Inquiry on Sustainable Operations

Description

We aim to study the means by which organizations can achieve sustainability (in the broad sense: ecological, economic, social) by studying the characteristics of and the means by which organizational operations can be made sustainable. Accordingly, we will focus our research on two broad and comprehensive aspects of operations processes: (1) the decision chain, which involves the setting of organizational objectives and the detailed design of processes and their management, with particular attention to the product life-cycle design, and process strategy and design, and (2) the supply chain: which maps the in- and out-flow of goods, funds, data, information, and resources (human and material) from their separate origins to their ultimate destinations, and accounts for every effect at each step of the way.

Investigation into the attributes and effects of alternative forms of these factors of operations on the fulfillment of an organization’s objectives and on the external economic, social, and natural environments necessarily requires knowledge and assessment from virtually every field of inquiry. It is thus a certainty that research in the sustainability of operations will include deep and ample perspectives from many disciplines, and, conversely, that research in fields such as economics, engineering, the natural and social sciences, and agriculture will of necessity have to be framed within the concept of sustainability and sustainable organizations. 

Leadership

The primary contact for this group is Emmanuel U. Enemuoh (UMD Mechanical/Industrial Engineering).

Membership

Name

Department

Email

Nikhil Acharya

UMD Mechanical/Industrial Engineering (MIE)

acha0021@d.umn.edu

Richard P. Axler

UMD-NRRI-CWE

raxler@nrri.umn.edu

Geoff Bell

UMD Management Studies (MgtS)

gbell@d.umn.edu

Pat Borchert

UMD Management Studies (MgtS)

pborcher@d.umn.edu

Valerie Brady

UMD MN Sea Grant

vbrady@d.umn.edu

Steve Castleberry

UMD Marketing (MKT)

scastleb@d.umn.edu

Manjit Dhatt

UMD Finance and Management Information Sciences (FMIS)

mdhatt@d.umn.edu

  Emmanuel Enemuoh*

UMD Mechanical/Industrial Engineering (MIE)

eenemuoh@d.umn.edu

Tom Ferguson

UMD Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)

tferguso@d.umn.edu

Donald Fosnacht

NRRI CARTD Director

dfosnach@d.umn.edu

Ken Gilbertson

UMD HPER and CEED

kgilbert@d.umn.edu

Mindy Granley

UMD Sustainability Coordinator UMD Facilities Management

mgranley@d.umn.edu

Nik Hassan

UMD Finance and Management Information Sciences (FMIS)

nhassan@d.umn.edu

Sue Janssen

UMD Sociology (SOC)

sjanssen@d.umn.edu

Lucinda Johnson

UMD-NRRI-CWE Director

ljohnson@d.umn.edu

Kjell Knudsen

UMD Management Studies (MgtS) and Dean, LSBE

kknudsen@d.umn.edu

Eric Kyper

School of Business, Lynchburg College, Lynchburg, VA

kyper@lynchburg.edu

Dahui Li

UMD Finance and Management Information Sciences (FMIS)

dli@d.umn.edu

Mike Mageau

UMD Geography/Environmental Studies (GEOG/ES)

mmageau@d.umn.edu

Christopher McIntosh

UMD Economics (ECON)

cmcintos@d.umn.edu

Jennifer Mencl

UMD Management Studies (MgtS)

jmencl@d.umn.edu

Gerald Niemi

UMD Nat Resources Research Institute (NRRI) and UMD Biology (BIOL)

gniemi@d.umn.edu

Charles Patti

School of Business, University of Denver, Denver, CO

cpatti@du.edu

Henry Person

UMD Finance and Management Information Sciences (FMIS)

hperson@d.umn.edu

Jon Pierce

UMD Management Studies (MgtS)

jpierce@d.umn.edu

Alan Roline

UMD Accounting (ACCT)

aroline@d.umn.edu

Ryan Rosandich

UMD Mechanical/Industrial Engineering (MIE)

rrosandi@d.umn.edu

David Syring

UMD Sociology/Anthropology (SOC/ANTH)

dsyring@d.umn.edu

Bedassa Tadesse

UMD Economics (ECON)

btadesse@d.umn.edu

Okechuckwu Ukaga*

UM Extension Service

ukaga001@umn.edu

Shee Wong

UMD Finance and Management Information Sciences (FMIS)

swong@d.umn.edu

*Denotes Group Coordinator