Rehabilitation Research Graduate Group

Description

Mission: Cultivation of premiere scientists and future academicians to lead the transformation of the science and practice of rehabilitation. The Interdisciplinary Rehabilitation Research Graduate Group includes faculty, graduate students, and clinical, translational, and basic scientists at the University of Minnesota and other institutions in Minnesota interested in advancing the discovery, dissemination, and clinical translation of scientific findings in Rehabilitation. We conduct a broad range of rehabilitation research, from basic science to clinical studies.

Rehabilitation Science is an emerging interdisciplinary field that focuses on human function and disability. The broad spectrum of the field ranges from prevention of disabling disease conditions to treatment, community integration, and maximizing of function and quality of life after disability. Faculty backgrounds include those from the health sciences, social sciences, engineering, and related fields. Since the inception of the Rehabilitation Science PhD Program, the Program has been multidisciplinary (Physical Medicine, Occupational & Physical Therapy). The group has grown toward greater interdisciplinary studies, and expanded to include basic scientists and engineers. We wish to further extend the interdisciplinary nature of this group to incorporate key clinical and basic science partners from Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences, Rehabilitation Engineering, and other Departments and Colleges within the University and the broader intellectual community. The initial membership roster spans twelve University Departments, seven colleges, and three clinical research institutional partners.

Goals:
1) Increase communication and research collaboration among scientists in rehabilitation research at the University of Minnesota, the Minneapolis VA Health Care System, Mayo Medical Center, Allina Sister Kenny Rehabilitation Institute, and other community research partners;
2) Expand interdisciplinary curricular offerings for graduate students with broad rehabilitation research interests;
3) Facilitate more rapid dissemination of research findings to clinical practice through seminars, symposium, and networking;
4) Facilitate integration of clinical perspectives into scientific research aims;
5) Build an integrated research infrastructure for rehabilitation research, leveraging existing University and clinical resources and investments.

Leadership

Paula Ludewig, PhD, PT, is Associate Professor, Program in Physical Therapy, and Director of Graduate Studies, Program in Rehabilitation Science. She has been DGS for the Rehabilitation Science Program since 2010, and faculty at the University of Minnesota since 1998.

Mark DeRuiter, PhD, CCC-A/SLP, is Director of Graduate Studies Programs in Speech Language & Hearing Science and Audiology. He also directs the Clinical Practice for the Program in Speech Language & Hearing Science.

Andrew Hansen, PhD is a biomedical engineer directing the Rehabilitation Engineering research program at the Minneapolis VA Medical Center. Dr. Hansen brings unique expertise in Rehabilitation Engineering in a clinical research setting.

James R Carey, PhD, PT, FAPTA is Professor, Programs in Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Science, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Carey was Director of the Program in Physical Therapy for 17 years, leading the substantial growth of that Program in research and education. Dr. Carey has served in extensive leadership roles at the University, local community, nationally and internationally.

Membership

Name

Department

Email

Lynda Anderson

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

lla@umn.edu

Elizabeth Arendt

Orthopaedic Surgery

arend001@umn.edu

Victor Barocas

Biomedical Engineering

baroc001@umn.edu

Divya Bhaskaran

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

bhas0021@umn.edu

Jonathan Braman

Orthopaedic Surgery

brama011@umn.edu

James Carey

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

carey007@umn.edu

Jessica Cassidy

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

krea0014@umn.edu

Mark DeRuiter

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

derui001@umn.edu

Will Durfee

Mechanical Engineering

wkdurfee@umn.edu

Carol Lynn Ely

Institute on Community Integration

elyxx021@umn.edu

John Ferguson

VA Medical Center - Minneapolis

John.Ferguson1@va.gov

Beth Fondell

Institute on Community Integration

fond0030@umn.edu

Bernadette Gillick

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

gillick@umn.edu

Ward Glasoe

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

glaso008@umn.edu

Gary Goldish

VA Medical Center - Minneapolis

Gary.Goldish@va.gov

Linda Goldstone

Curriculum and Instruction

golds240@umn.edu

Ted Graber

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

grab0170@umn.edu

Andrew Hansen

VA Medical Center - Minneapolis

Andrew.Hansen2@va.gov

Amy Hewitt

Institute on Community Integration

hewit005@umn.edu

Stacy Ingraham

Kinesiology

ingra013@umn.edu

Kenton Kaufman

Mayo Health - Biomedical Engineering

Kaufman.Kenton@mayo.edu

Mary Kennedy

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

kenne047@umn.edu

Teresa Kimberley

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

tjk@umn.edu

Sara Koehler

VA Medical Center - Minneapolis

Sara.Koehler@va.gov

Linda Krach

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

krach002@umn.edu

Becky Lawrence

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

lawre354@umn.edu

Dawn Lowe

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

lowex017@umn.edu

Paula Ludewig

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

ludew001@umn.edu

Rebecca Lulai

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

lude0008@umn.edu

Sarah Mapellentz

Public Health

lent0060@umn.edu

Virgil Mathiowetz

Center for Allied Health

mathi003@umn.edu

Corey McGee

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

mcge0062@umn.edu

Tara Meder

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

mede0016@umn.edu

Peggy Nelson

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

nelso477@umn.edu

Eric Nickel

VA Medical Center - Minneapolis

Eric.Nickel@va.gov

Kelly Nye-Lengerman

Institute on Community Integration

knye@umn.edu

Lars Oddsson

Allina - Abbott Northwestern Sister Kenny Research Center

Lars.Oddsson@allina.com

Becky Olson-Kellogg

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

olso0184@umn.edu

Xueqin Qian

Educational Psychology

qianx035@umn.edu

Karen Ryan

College of Design, Housing and Apparel

ryanx024@umn.edu

Sanjay Sarkar

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

sark0056@umn.edu

Rebekah Schmidt

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

schm2203@umn.edu

Theresa Schreder

Center for Allied Health

schre225@umn.edu

LeAnn Snow

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

snow0018@umn.edu

Justin Staker

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

stake013@umn.edu

LaDora Thompson

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

thomp067@umn.edu

Peter Watson

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

pjwatson@umn.edu

Margaret Weightman

Allina - Abbott Northwestern Sister Kenny Research Center

Margaret.Weightman@allina.com

Kristin Zhao

Mayo Health

Zhao.Kristin@mayo.edu