MRI Users' Group (MUG)

Description

MUG is broadly interested in the neuroscience of cognition, behavior and disease, and specifically interested in applications of MRI for studying human brain function. MRI is a complex and demanding research technique, and graduate students struggle to master required knowledge in physics, physiology and human behavior. Traditional coursework provides only a limited foundation in a subset of the necessary fields, and no one laboratory contains the expertise necessary to prepare graduate students fully for careers using MRI. MUG is intended to serve as a focal point for sharing of information between laboratories with diverse backgrounds, in order to provide opportunities for graduate students to seek out the research expertise and support they need to complete their dissertation research.

As a technique-focused graduate group, rather than a content-focused graduate group, MUG complements other groups that already exist on campus. Students who attend MUG also attend (selectively) weekly seminars hosted by Neuroscience, the Center for Cognitive Sciences, Biomedical Engineering (Neuroimaging Training Grant), and the CMRR. MUG is strengthened by tapping into a cohort of students and faculty who know each other from these venues. MUG, however, offers a venue for sharpening each other’s neuroimaging skills by focusing on methodological topics that are too specialized for the other content-based groups and centers.

Leadership

Leadership for the MUG includes the following faculty: Angus MacDonald (angus@umn.edu), Francis Shen (fxshen@umn.edu), Katie Thomas (thoma114@umn.edu), and Kamil Ugurbil (ugurb001@umn.edu). The primary contact for the group is Philip Burton (CLA Neuroimaging Staff Scientist, burto108@umn.edu).

For more information, visit the web site.

Membership       

Name

Department

Email

Katie Cullen

Psychiatry

rega0026@umn.edu

Colin Deyoung

Psychology

cdeyoung@umn.edu

Steve Engel

Psychology

engel@umn.edu

Sheng He

Psychology / Neuroscience

sheng@umn.edu

Yuhong Jiang

Psychology

jiang166@umn.edu

Wilma Koutstaal

Psychology

kouts003@umn.edu

Shmuel Lissek

Psychology

smlissek@umn.edu

Monica Luciana

Psychology

lucia003@umn.edu

Angus MacDonald

Psychology

angus@umn.edu

Chad Marsolek

Psychology

marso002@umn.edu

Cheryl Olman

Psychology / Neuroscience

caolman@umn.edu

Andrew Oxenham

Psychology

oxenham@umn.edu

Patricia Pardo

Psychology

pjpardo@umn.edu

Jose Pardo

Psychiatry

jvpardo@umn.edu

Aldo Rustichini

Economics

rusti001@umn.edu

Francis Shen

Law School

fxshen@umn.edu

Kathleen Thomas

Institute of Child Development

thoma114@umn.edu

Kamil Ugurbil

Radiology / Center for Magnetic Resonance Research

ugurb001@umn.edu

Essa Yacoub

Radiology

yaco0006@umn.edu

Yang Zhang

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

zhang470@umn.edu