Language and Cognition

Description

Our group provides a structure for bringing together, and facilitating collaboration among, students and faculty with a common interest in addressing theoretical and practical questions that arise at the interface between language and other cognitive systems, and whose answers require a deeper understanding of the neurocognitive basis of linguistic communication. Members of the group approach the study of language and cognition from a number of different disciplinary perspectives and methodologies (computational, linguistic, neurobiological, and psychological). They come from academic programs and colleges throughout the university, including, for example, Child Development (CEHD), Educational Psychology (CEHD), Linguistics (CLA), Neuroscience (Medical School), Psychology (CLA), Computer Science (IT), Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences (CLA), English (CLA) , Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems (Pharmacy), and Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology (Pharmacy).

Advances in theoretical linguistics have made important contributions to our understanding of what we know when we know a language. However, the precise manner in which linguistic knowledge interacts with other aspects of cognition when it is put to use in communication is still not well understood. The focus of our group will be on achieving a better understanding of the nature of this interaction and its role in explaining how linguistic communication works as well as how is disrupted, for example in individuals with pathologies such as Autism and Alzheimer’s disease.

Leadership

The primary contact for the group is Jeanette Gundel (Professor, Linguistics). Additional members of the leadership team include Apostolos Georgopoulos (Professor, Neuroscience, Neurology, and Psychiatry), and Serguei Pakhomov (Assistant Professor, Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems).

Membership

 

Name

Department

Email

Juan Arroyo

Cognitive Science

 

Thomas Christie

Cognitive Science

chri2749@umn.edu

Roger Dumas

Cognitive Science

dumas@umn.edu

Andrew Elfenbein

English

elfen001@umn.edu

Charles Fletcher

Psychology

fletc002@umn.edu

Apostolos Georgopoulos

Neuroscience, Neurology & Psychiatry

omega@umn.edu

Jeanette Gundel

Linguistics

gunde003@umn.edu

Claire Halpert

Linguistics

halpert@umn.edu

Tim Hunter

Linguistics

timh@umn.edu

Hye-min Kang

Linguistics

 

Panayiota Kendeou

Educational Psychology

kend0040@umn.edu

Mary Kennedy

Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences

kenne047@umn.edu

Michael Maratsos

Child Development

marat001@umn.edu

J.P. Marcott

Linguistics

marco043@umn.edu

Susan Marino

Experimental & Clinical Pharmacology

marin007@umn.edu

Mike Mensink

Educational Psychology

mens0058@umn.edu

Dustin Meriwether

Educational Psychology

meriw007@umn.edu

Serguei Pakhomov

Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems

pakh0002@umn.edu

Brian Reese

Linguistics

breese@umn.edu

Nicole Scott

Cognitive Science

scott787@umn.edu

Maria Sera

Child Development

sera@umn.edu

Hooi Ling Soh

Linguistics

sohxx001@umn.edu

Wei Song

Linguistics

songx601@umn.edu

Paul Tilleson

Linguistics

till0090@umn.edu

Sashank Varma

Educational Psychology

sashank@umn.edu

Yang Zhang

Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences

zhang470@umn.edu

 Please direct questions about interdisciplinary graduate groups to Vicki Field, Director of The Graduate School’s Office of Interdisciplinary Initiatives, field001@umn.edu or 612-625-6532.