Clinical Movement Science

Description

The Center for Clinical Movement Science is an interdisciplinary group of University of Minnesota faculty who leverage their collective expertise to solve problems affecting human movement and behavior.  These faculty offer a diversity of perspectives from the fields of engineering, kinesiology, the neurological, rehabilitation and clinical sciences.  The research of the Center provides a better understanding of the underlying disease processes that lead to movement impairments.  Its products are new knowledge, procedures, therapies and devices that will aid and enhance the care and treatment of age-related changes and diseases affecting human movement.  The Center fulfills its educational mission by offering relevant course work through its faculty, organizing regular speaking events and seminars, and hosting research workshops that are open to faculty, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and professionals in the community.

The Center also co-sponsors workshops, a colloquium series, and other events featuring University of Minnesota faculty and graduate students, and external scientists.  The colloquium schedule and information on other events are listed on the Center's website: http://ccms.umn.edu.

Leadership

The primary contact for this group is Juergen Konczak (School of Kinesiology). Additional members of the leadership team are of John H. Anderson (Department of Otolaryngology) and James Ashe (Department of Neuroscience).

Membership

Name

Department

Email

John H. Anderson

Otolaryngology

anders00@umn.edu

James Ashe

Neuroscience & Neurology

ashe@umn.edu

Victor Barocas

Biomedical Engineering

baroc001@umn.edu

Khalaf Bushara

Neurology

busha001@umn.edu

James Carey

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

carey007@umn.edu

Don Dengel

Kinesiology

denge001@umn.edu

Will Durfee

Mechanical Engineering

wkdurfee@umn.edu

Teresa Kimberley

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

tjk@umn.edu

Jürgen Konczak

Kinesiology

jkonczak@umn.edu

Karl Kukulka

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

kukul001@umn.edu

Paula Ludewig

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

ludew001@umn.edu

Colum Mackinnon

Neurology

cmackinn@umn.edu

Virgil Mathiowetz

Occupational Therapy

mathi003@umn.edu

Linda McLoon

Ophthalmology

mcloo001@umn.edu

Jayanthi Sasisekaran

Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

sasis001@umn.edu

Thomas Stoffregen

Kinesiology

tas@umn.edu

Ladora  V. Thompson

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

thomp067@umn.edu

Paul Tuite

Neurology

tuite002@umn.edu

Michael Wade

Kinesiology

mwade@umn.edu

Peter Watson

Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

pjwatson@umn.edu