Child Health & Well Being

Description

The Child Health and Well Being interdisciplinary graduate group intends to harness the increased interest in research, training, and practice in children’s health and well being that exists at the University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD): Specifically, this includes disciplines with the following graduate programs at UMD: Social Work, Psychology, Health Physical Education and Recreation, Communicative Sciences and Disorders, Medicine, Biobehavioral Health, and Education. Additional interdisciplinary group membership will consist of graduate faculty from the College of St. Scholastica (CSS). Faculty from CSS represent disciplines for which training programs are not available at UMD (occupational therapy, physical therapy, and nursing) but whose expertise are integral when considering the “whole” perspective of services supportive of children’s health and well being. Several graduate-level programs for future practitioners and scholars in disciplines relevant to children’s health and well-being have been established and enhanced.

Faculty from across disciplines know of the value of interdisciplinary training and research activities for graduate students and programs, but have limited mechanisms available to explore opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration.
The Interdisciplinary Group of Child Health and Well Being will be launched with a symposium. The proposed symposium would feature a nationally known keynote speaker to stimulate thinking through use of an interdisciplinary lens, issues related to the mental and physical health of children, and implications for our region of the state.

Leadership

The primary contact for this group is Mary Ann Marchel (Department of Education). 

Membership

Name

Department

Email

Mustafa A'labsi

Medical School

malabsi@d.umn.edu

Lynette Carlson

Communicative Sciences and Disorders

lrcarlso@d.umn.edu

Priscilla Day

Social Work

pday@d.umn.edu

Kathy Dowell

Psychology-UMD

kdowell@d.umn.edu

Julie Ernst

Health and Physical Educational Recreation

jernst@d.umn.edu

Sally Fauchald

Nursing-College of St. Scholastica

Sfauchald@css.edu

Nancy Gabres

Occupational Therapy-College of St. Scholastica

Ngabres@css.edu

Lynn Haglin

Northland Foundation-Duluth

Lynn@northlandfdn.org

Molly Harney

Education

mharney@d.umn.edu

Marlys Johnson

Liscensed Psychologist-Head Start Mental Health Specialist

marlysjon@gmail.com

Casey Ladd

Licsnesed Clinical Social Worker-Human Development Center

Casey.Ladd@HDCRC.org

Fay Maas

Psychology

fmaas@d.umn.edu

Mary Ann Marchel

Education

mmarchel@d.umn.edu

Catherine Miller

Nursing College of St. Scholastica

cmiller2@css.edu

Jaqueline Onchwari

Education

jonchwar@d.umn.edu

Deidre Quinlan

Liscensed Clinical Social Worker-Duluth Public Schools

Deidre.Quinlan@duluth.k12.mn.us

Melissa Walls

Biobehavioral Health and Population

mlwalls@d.umn.edu

Heather Winesett

Pediatrician-St. Luke's Hospital

heatherwinesett@yahoo.com

Denise Wise

Physical Therapy-College of St. Scholastica

dwise@css.edu