Minnesota Scientists in Aging Research

Description

The Minnesota Scientists in Aging Research is a group of scientists and students (undergraduate and graduate) at the University of Minnesota and other institutions in the State of Minnesota that investigate multiple aspects of aging. We conduct a broad range of aging research, from basic science to clinical and epidemiologic studies. We welcome scientists to join our community.

Our goals are to: 

  • Increase communication among scientists in aging research at the University of Minnesota, VAMC, Hennepin County Medical Center, Regions Hospital and Mayo Medical Center, and other research institutions.
  • Facilitate collaborations and grant applications between members of the MN SAR. 
  • Increase awareness of the breadth and depth of aging research that is carried on in Minnesota, both at a national level and within Minnesota. 
  • Provide a forum in which clinical researchers on aging can explore possible collaboration with basic researchers in pursuit of translational research. 
  • Become a significant driving force in the development of a Center for Excellence in Aging Research in the 21st Century.
  • To promote the interdisciplinary integration and training of graduate students into successful professionals.

Leadership

The primary contact for this group is Dr. LaDora Thompson (Physical Med/Rehabilitaion).  Additional members of the leadership team are Dr. Dawn Lowe (Physical Med/Rehabilitaion) and Dr. Anne Murray (Medicine and Geriatrics).

Membership

Name

Department

Email

Edgar Arriaga

Chemistry

arriaga@umn.edu

Debora Ferrington

Ophthalmology

ferri013@umn.edu

Steven Juhn

Otolaryngology

juhnx001@umn.edu

Robert Kane

Health Policy/Mgmt, Div of

kanex001@umn.edu

Ilo Leppik

Experimental/Clin Pharmacology

leppi001@umn.edu

Walter Low

Neurology

lowwalt@umn.edu

Dawn Lowe

Physical Med/Rehabilitation

lowex017@umn.edu

Anne Murray

Medicine and Geriatrics

murra049@umn.edu

Melissa Terpstra

Radiology

terps001@umn.edu

David Thomas

Biochem, Molec Biol, Biophy TMED

ddt@umn.edu

LaDora Thompson

Physical Med/Rehabilitaion

thomp067@umn.edu

Paul Tuite

Neurology

tuite002@umn.edu

Huber Warner

Biological Sci Admin, Col of

warne033@umn.edu

W. Gibson Wood

Pharmacology

woodx002@umn.edu