Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Announcing the 2014 Recipients of the Best Dissertation Award

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Best Dissertation Competition. The winner from each group was chosen by faculty from the broad disciplinary area. Selections were based on the originality and importance of the research, as well as the potential for the student to make an unusually significant contribution to the discipline. Each recipient will receive an award of $1,000. Congratulations to our winners:

Arts & Humanities

Sean Nye, Comparative Studies in Discourse and Society

Advisor: Richard Leppert
Dissertation: Teutonic Time-Slip: Travels in Electronic Music, Technology, and German Identity, 1968-2009
Current Position: Provost’s Postdoctoral Scholar in the Humanities, University of Southern California

Biological & Life Sciences

Nancy Michael, Neuroscience

Advisor: Robert Meisel
Dissertation: Structural Plasticity of the Mesolimbic System Associated with Female Sexual Reward
Current Position: Postdoctoral Fellow, Michigan State University

Physical Sciences & Engineering

James Faghmous, Computer Science

Advisor: Vipin Kumar
Dissertation: Climate Change and Variability: A Spatio-Temporal Data Mining Perspective
Current Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Minnesota

Social Sciences & Education

Camelia Hostinar, Child Psychology

Advisor: Megan Gunnar
Dissertation: Impacts of Social Support and Early Life Stress on Stress Reactivity in Children and Adolescents
Current Position: Postdoctoral Scholar, Northwestern University

Honorable Mention

  • Ranganathan Gopalakrishnan, Mechanical Engineering; Advisors: Chris Hogan & Peter McMurry
  • Christian Haines, Comparative Literature; Advisor: Cesare Casarino
  • Daniel Linhares, Veterinary Medicine; Advisor: Montserrat Torremorell
  • Tanmoy Sadhukha, Pharmaceutics; Advisors: Jayanth Panyam & Timothy Wiedmann
  • Hui Zhao, Electrical Engineering; Advisor: Jian-Ping Wang